2023 IRTAF Grant Winners

This Fall, the Illinois Retired Teachers Association Foundation (IRTAF) awarded $42,000 in grant money to several public school educators from across the state. This grant money will allow these educators to enrich their instruction with materials not otherwise available to them. Their students are the real winners! A special thank you to the Illinois Principals Association for their assistance with the promotion of this program. Below, you will find the name of each winner listed, along with his/her school, IRTA Area, and a video about each project in the winner’s own words.

Candace Baker, Minooka Community High School, Channahon (1)

Tanya Beaulieu, Hononegah Community High School, Rockton (1)

David Belden, Minooka Community High School, Minooka (1)

Joshua Bell, Minooka Community High School, Minooka (1)

Cassandra Bieri, New Boston Elementary, New Boston (1)

Jeanine DeHaven-Binger, Hononegah Community High School, Rockton (1)

Jay Dickerson, River Ridge High School, Hanover (1)

Brittney Krischel, Flanagan-Cornell Unit 74, Flanagan (1)

Nick Micetich, Minooka Community High School, Channahon (1)

Gina Piatak, Coal City Middle School, Coal City (1)

Tammy Walsh, Minooka Junior High School District 201, Minooka (1)

Carley Zimmerman, Flanagan-Cornell, Flanagan (1)

Rachel Castaneda, Rockland Elementary School, Libertyville (2)

Kathleen Choi, Algonquin Road School, Fox River Grove (2)

Gina Copen, Little Fort Elementary, Waukegan (2)

Shan Kazmi, Zion-Benton Township High School, Zion (2)

Mike Kolar, Rockland Elementary School, Libertyville (2)

Brooke Marshall, Gray M. Sanborn Elementary, Palatine (2)

Lisa McCauley, Viking Middle School, Gurnee (2)

Sharon McDaniel, Little Fort Elementary School, Waukegan (2)

Tedd Moody, Indian Valley Vocational Center, Sandwich (2)

Katie Throw, Minooka Primary Center, Minooka (2)

Christine Adelmann, Gompers Junior High School, Joliet (3)

Kristine Brokos, Stone School, Addison (3)

Traci Daimid, Lawn Manor Primary Center, Oak Lawn (3)

Catherine Gallagher, Hamlin Upper Grade Center, Alsip (3)

Molly Hooper, International Prep Academy, Champaign (3)

Whitney Huber, International Prep Academy, Champaign (3)

Monica Kula, Pennoyer School #79, Norridge (3)

Josephine Lewis, Jefferson Elementary School, Berwyn (3)

Heather McCarthy, Oak Lawn Hometown Middle School, Oak Lawn (3)

Mickey Tebelman, Meadow Ridge School, Orland Park (3)

Amy Webb, Unity Junior High School, Tolono (3)

Stephanie Altgilbers, Unity High School, Mendon (4)

Trista Barrett, Virginia CUSD 64 and A-C Central 262, Virginia (4)

Leigh Blumer, Banner Elementary School, Dunlap (4)

Erika Brock, Illini Central High School, Mason City (4)

Shellie Brooks, Havana Junior High, Havana (4)

Jill Colley, West Central High School, Biggsville (4)

Kathy Gilles, Wilder-Waite Grade School, Peoria (4)

Nicole Loser, Brimfield Grade School, Brimfield (4)

Valerie Rocke, Banner Elementary School, Dunlap (4)

Emily Ropp, Midwest Central Primary School, Manito (4)

Mikalia Sauder, Midwest Central High School, Manito (4)

Kate Sievers, Jersey Community Middle School, Jerseyville (4)

Melissa Alberssen, Taylorville Junior High School, Taylorville (5)

Kevin Aten, Cerro Gordo CUSD 100, Cerro Gordo (5)

Erin Barker, Okaw Valley Elementary School, Bethany (5)

Jill Briggerman, Main Street Elementary, Shelbyville (5)

Jeri Cardiff Michael, Tuscola East Prairie Middle School, Tuscola (5)

Emily Crossman, Arthur Grade School, Arthur (5)

Jeffrey Finley, Jasper County Junior High, Newton (5)

Emily Keeler, Oblong Elementary School, Oblong (5)

Hope Kirkwood, Okaw Valley Elementary School, Bethany (5)

Jessica Mason, Washington Attendance Center, Carmi (5)

Paula Moutrey, Cara Thomas, and Suzanne Specha, North and Memorial Elementary Schools, Taylorville (5)

Ryan Repking, Dieterich Jr-Sr High School, Dieterich (5)

Carlin Smock, Carmi-White County High School, Carmi (5)

Denise Strack, Atwood Hammond Grade School, Atwood (5)

Becky Bailie, Herrin Elementary School, Herrin (6)

Doug Bates, Williamson County Education Services, Herrin (6)

Molly Brown, Denning Elementary, West Frankfort (6)

Heather Engram, Herrin Elementary School, Marion (6)

Melanie Hamilton, Denning Elementary, West Frankfort (6)

Jodi Jeralds, Herrin Elementary School, Herrin (6)

Beverly Kapp, St. Rose Elementary, St. Rose (6)

Jennifer Meznarich, Frohardt Elementary, Granite City (6)

Marla Miller, Frohardt Elementary, Granite City (6)

Jennifer Morence, Carlyle High School, Carlyle (6)

Roxanne Price, Lincoln Elementary School, Marion (6)

Carrie Schildroth, Alton Middle School, Alton (6)

Darrin Smith, The Learning Center, Marion (6)

Lynnette Staley, Hamilton County High School, McLeansboro (6)

Brianne Steinkamp, Carlyle Junior High School, Carlyle (6)