Legislative Update: 11/28/2022

The Illinois General Assembly convened on November 15-17 for Veto Session but didn't act on any significant issues and will re-convene on November 29-December 1.

President Harmon and Speaker Welch ran an unprecedented number of legislative races. Each caucus only lost one member, both in the Metro East where shifting population and low voter turnout heavily impacted the election. The **Senate Dems will have a 40-19 Democratic majority** in the 103rd General Assembly. The House Dems picked up 5 seats which would give the **House Dems an unprecedented 78-40 Democratic majority**. Both chambers have turnover, with 22 new members in the House and 7 in the Senate, including several former members and those switching chambers.

The Republican minorities in the Illinois House and Senate elected new leaders for the 103rd General Assembly. Following the election, House Minority Leader **Jim Durkin** announced he would not seek another term, and Rep. **Tony McCombie** (R-Mt. Sterling) secured the votes for the position. She will be the first female House Minority Leader. Although she has yet to form her full leadership team, McCombie already named Rep. **Norine Hammond** as her deputy minority leader. Representatives Marty McLaughlin (R-Lake Barrington) and Tim Ozinga (R-Mokena) also pursued the position. In the Senate, Minority Leader **Dan McConchie** (R-Lake Zurich) drew a challenge from Sen. **John Curran** (R-Lemont), who was ultimately supported unanimously by the Senate Republican caucus.

Senate Democrats also voted to support President **Don Harmon** (D-Oak Park). House Democrats will hold its caucus on November 30<sup>th</sup>, although Speaker **Emmanuel "Chris" Welch** (D-Westchester) announced he secured the necessary votes within his caucus to continue as Speaker of the House.

## Worker's Rights Amendment Passed

Voters were asked to decide whether to amend the Illinois Constitution to include language that would constitutionally enshrine the right to collectively bargain wages and other terms of employment. To pass, the amendment must be approved by 60% of those voting on the question or a majority of those casting ballots. It likely will not reach the 60% threshold but appears to have passed with approximately 53% of the total ballots cast.

## New Members in the Senate

- 1. Javier Cervantes (1 D)
- 2. Mike Porfiro (11 D)
- 3. Willie Person (16 D)
- 4. Seth Lewis (24 D)
- 5. Mike Halpin (36 D)
- 6. Rachel Ventura (43 D)
- 7. Erica Conway Harriss (56 R)

## New Members in the House

- 1. Lillian Jimenez (4 D)
- 2. Hoan Huynh (13 D)
- 3. Kevin Olickal (16 D)
- 4. Abdelnasser Rashid (21 D)
- 5. Jenn Douglas Latish (45 D)
- 6. Jennifer Sanalitro (48 R)
- 7. Nabeela Syed (51-D)
- 8. Mary Beth Canty (54 D)
- 9. Laura Dias (62 -D)
- 10. Gregg Johnson (72 D)
- 11. Brad Fritts (74 R)
- 12. Jed David (75 R)
- 13. Norma Hernandez (77 D)
- 14. Matt Hanson (83-D)
- 15. Bill Hauter (87 R)
- 16. John Cabello (90 R)
- 17. Sharon Chung (91 D)
- 18. There will be a replacement named for retiring Rep. Tim Butler (96 R)
- 19. Harry Benton (97 D)
- 20. Dennis Tipsword (105 R)
- 21. Wayne Rosenthal (108 R)
- 22. Kevin Schmidt (114 R)