Financial Assistance | Scholarships | Grants | ICARE


2014 IRTAF Scholarship Information

2014 Moler-Austin Scholarship Information

2013 Foundation Scholarship Winners

The IRTA Foundation is pleased to announce the 8 winners of the 2013 IRTA Foundation Scholarships and happy to provide these promising students with financial assistance. Again this year, $1,500 is being awarded to each of our winners, all chosen through competition with other applicants from their own area of the state. Thanks to a very generous private donation from one of our members, Areas 4 and 6 are each awarding two scholarships.

Hannah Graham

The Area 1 winner is Hannah Graham of Utica, IL. She will be receiving her Associate in Science Degree from Illinois Valley Community College in May and has been accepted into the elementary education program at Illinois State University. This year, Hannah received the Illinois Valley Community College 21st Century Scholarship, the highest scholarship honor bestowed on an IVCC student.

The Area 2 winner is Dori Hauser of Vernon Hills, IL. Dori will be a junior at Drake University where she is enrolled as an education major. In the summer of 2012, Dori participated in a study-abroad course in Ghana, Africa. Her time in Ghana confirmed her interest in teaching, expanded her knowledge of education, and taught her how to adapt.

Sarah Bollinger

The Area 3 winner is Sarah Bollinger of Naperville, IL. She attends Illinois State University where she is pursuing a degree in bilingual elementary education with a minor in Spanish, teaching English to speakers of other languages with endorsements in math, language arts, and Spanish. Sarah has initiated an after-school program for Spanish-speaking children in a local school. The program has been well-received in the school community and greatly appreciated by parents.

Evan Sheppard

One Area 4 winner is Evan Sheppard of Pearl, IL. He will be receiving his Associate in Science Degree from John Wood Community College in Quincy, IL. Evan will be attending Western Illinois University where he will pursue a degree in agricultural education with a minor in anthropology with a specialty in cultural anthropology. Evan hopes to use anthropology with his agricultural education major to teach people better methods of agricultural production.

Mary Becker

Another Area 4 winner is Mary Becker of Normal, IL.
She attends Illinois State University where she is enrolled in the teacher education program and majoring in mathematics. Mary's goal is to be a high school math teacher and to show students how important and exciting mathematics can be. She is also an active member and leader in the Illinois State University Wesley Foundation where she served as president in 2012.

Jarred Leeper

The Area 5 winner is Jarred Leeper of Decatur, IL. Jarred will be a senior at Millikin University where he is pursuing a Bachelor of Science Degree with a major in elementary education. Both his mother and aunt are teachers, as well as his wife Lori, who is a second grade teacher. Jarred is a member of Alpha Lambda Delta National Honor Society and Pi Lambda Theta, fraternal organizations for high achieving students.

One Area 6 winner is Ryan Pappenfuss of Harrisburg, IL. Ryan will be receiving an Associate in Science Degree and an Associate in Arts Degree from Southeastern Illinois College. In the fall, he will be attending Southern Illinois University in Carbondale where he is enrolled in the education program. He plans to major in social science and receive an endorsement in mathematics. Ryan's goal is to teach high school social studies and/or math in a school district in the Southern Illinois area.

Emily Pritchett

Another Area 6 winner is Emily Pritchett of Belleville, IL. Emily attends Illinois College where she is majoring in elementary education with a concentration in mathematics. Her life-long goal is to receive a Master’s Degree in special education and also to receive more endorsements in different areas of education.

The Moler-Austin Scholarship is another scholarship available through the IRTA Foundation. Each year 2 scholarships are available to Kendall County high school graduates pursuing a degree in secondary education; this year’s scholarships are for $4,500 each. Preference is given to those applicants with a focus in English or a foreign language. This scholarship is available because of a generous gift from IRTA member Identa Austin. Identa donated 80 acres of land to the IRTA, and the profits from the sale of that land continue to be used to fund the Moler-Austin scholarship.

The 2013-2014 recipients are Madeline Vogler and Karissa Pecci, both from Oswego, IL.

Madeline Vogler

Madeline Vogler
will be entering her sophomore year at the University of Illinois in Champaign this fall and is pursuing a double major in music education and jazz studies. Madeline began playing piano in second grade and picked up the saxophone in junior high. Upon graduation, she plans to use her degree to be a junior high band director and possibly teach in a low-income area where music is not always an opportunity for some students.

Karissa Pecci

Karissa Pecci attends Western Illinois University where she is pursuing a degree in early childhood education along with an endorsement in English as a second language. She also plans to get an endorsement in special education. She is currently involved in Western Illinois' Student Education Association.

IRTA would like to congratulate all 10 winners and wish them success in their future classroom endeavors. If you know anyone interested in applying for our 2014-2015 IRTA Foundation scholarships, please contact Susan Goetz at 800.728.4782 or for further information.


Phyllis Fasking, Foundation At Large Member, and Hannah Graham, Scholarship Recipient from Utica

Sarah Bollinger, Area 3 Scholarship Recipient, and Nancy Louck, Area 3 Representative

Area 4 Scholarship Winner Mary Becker
McLean County RTA Meeting, Friday, June 7
Patsy Sherrard - McLean Country RTA President, Mary Becker - Scholarship Winner, Sharon Urban - Region 10 Director, and Roger Hampton - Area 4 Rep.

Ms. McIntire, Pike-Calhoun RTA Local Leader, Evan Sheppard, Scholarship Winner, and Roger Hampton, IRTA Area Representative
Presentation of the 2013 IRTAF Area 4 Scholarship to winner Evan Sheppard

Bill Funkhouser, Area 6 Representative, Emily Pritchett, Scholarship Winner, Ed Gray, Region 15 Director, and Carol Hotz, St. Clair County President

IRTA | 620 N. Walnut St. | Springfield, IL 62702 | Phone: (217) 523-8488 or (800) 728-4782 | Fax: (217) 523-8493
© Copyright 2014 Illinois Retired Teachers Association | All Rights Reserved | Terms | Privacy | E-mail - Staff Use Only